Your bedroom should be your oasis, so I set off to make ours more relaxing and more romantic.  That being said, we had VERY little room to work with…

This is what our Master Bedroom looked like before we moved in.  (Pictures courtesy of the realtor’s ad).

 

Master

Master 2

 

Yep, that’s the whole thing.  The bed literally only fit in that exact spot.  Thank goodness we only had a full sized bed at the time.  It worked well for us though.  We didn’t have much in the way of extra funds after moving into the house, so I was able to decorate without spending too much cash.  And I really liked the outcome!

My first purchase was the bedding set.  Since the bed takes up the majority of the space, I wanted a set that made a statement, was pretty, and romantic.  I picked this up on Amazon for around $80!  I love the pattern, and the colors!

BedroomSet

Then I grabbed some curtains to match.  The pattern is slightly different, but close enough, that it still pulled the room together nicely.

Curtains

I’ve always wanted a chandelier in my bedroom.  They make everything look so fancy and sophisticated.  Our bedroom didn’t have wiring for an overhead light fixture, but I was determined to have one (without the investment of an electrical overhaul).  So, I picked up a beautiful candle chandelier, and some matching wall sconces.

*I didn’t want to deal with the potential fire hazard of real candles, so I bought battery operated ones with the little on/off switches on the bottom.  The only downside is that turning them on and off is kind of a pain.  We didn’t use them very often for the lights, more just for the aesthetic, but the mood lighting when we did use them, was great.

I also wanted to put some art on the wall opposite the bed, above our dresser.  I am all for keeping electronics out of the bedroom.  I think, especially when you have children, it’s important to have a little private space for you and hubby, that is uninterrupted from distractions.  (You’re also more likely to get a better night’s sleep when you aren’t falling asleep to the TV).

I found what I thought was a set of canvas prints.

CanvasPrints

Beautiful, right?  Not exactly what I received, and after reading many of the other customer reviews, I wasn’t the only one mislead.  What I received were three wall stickers, rolled up.  They were also MUCH smaller than pictured, probably about half the size (if that).  I could’ve returned them, but, I did really like the pictures, and I’m sort of a slacker when it comes to returning things.  So I made lemonade out of lemons.

I could’ve stuck them directly to the wall, but that didn’t give the look I wanted.

StuckToWall

Instead, I wrapped each sticker around a square piece of styrofoam and secured the excess with painter’s tape.

Photo Mar 18, 5 09 12 PM

Then, I attached the art to the wall with a couple pieces of tape.  Yep, just tape.  They ended up being super light, so I figured why waste the command strips or poke holes in the wall, so tape did the trick.

Photo Mar 18, 5 09 02 PM

Last, was the monogram over the bed.  I picked up some plain wooden letters from the clearance bin at Jo-Ann Fabrics.

One of my hobbies is making earrings for myself, so I had a lot of glass beads in my craft stock.

Beads

I hot glued beads to the U until it was completely covered.  Doesn’t it look cute?  And it was so much cheaper than buying one that was already “bedazzled.”

Photo Mar 31, 11 17 33 PM.jpg

And here’s the finished product…

It came together nicely.   All said and done, we had a beautifully decorated and romantic bedroom for around $200.  Not too bad.  What do you think?

