Step 1:  Compile all of the Picture Frames You’d Like to Use

  • I have tons of frames.  I’ve always been big on photos, so I have frames all over the place.  Our apartment has high ceilings, so I wanted to get good use out of the wall space, and knew I wanted to make a gallery wall.
  • I went through all of the frames I had and picked out all of the ones that were black.  I’m obsessed with organizing, so I tend to prefer things be “matchy matchy” and symmetrical.  So I liked the look of having all of the frames one color.
  • I’ve see lots of great gallery wall ideas on Pinterest (some people are much more adventurous than I am.  Check out some of the other great work HERE).

Step 2:

  • Trace the outline of your frames onto individual pieces of paper.  Many people have trace onto brown packing paper, which works great.  I didn’t have any in the house, so I improvised with tissue paper.  (Use whatever you have in the house, it’s silly to spend money on something that will be tossed away shortly anyway).

Step 3:

  • Measure and mark the wall hanging brackets onto the pieces of paper.  This will help make the hanging process easier.

Step 4:

  • Arrange the papers on the table or floor, in the desired arrangement.  This is the creative part, so try different arrangements until you find what you like.

*Take a picture of the final design so if you get interrupted, or papers get moved around, you still have a record of your final design.

Step 5:

  • Tape the papers onto the wall in the appropriate positions.

Step 6:

  • Attach the frames to the wall using picture hanging nails.

Step 7:

  • Accessorize
  • I included some simple wall art.  A pretty wall sticker that I picked up at the Dollar Tree, and some inexpensive “canvas” artwork.  Find out how to make similar artwork HERE.

Step 8:

  • Sit back and enjoy your beautiful new statement piece!
Finished Product
